Sharon K. Miller is the author of the Clay Series, three books about a simple clay pot and its connection to three different women over the course of eight hundred years. The Clay Remembers (May 2015), The Clay Endures (July 2016), and The Clay Sustains (September 2017). She is convinced of the solidarity of women throughout time, and the pot connecting all three women is the symbol of the love, work, and suffering which binds them in shared experience.

The Clay Series was inspired by the local history of the Sonoran Desert and a specific archaeological site near Tucson, Arizona. To prepare for writing these stories, Sharon researched the history of the Spanish entrada into the Southwestern United States and the archaeological history of the area, taking archaeology classes at the local community college, and participating in excavations. Both The Clay Remembers and The Clay Endures were awarded 5-Star Reviews from Readers’ Favorite and an IndieB.R.A.G. Medallion for Excellence.

Having fallen in love with words and reading and books as a child, she wrote her first book in the second grade. She thought that since books have lots of words, all she had to do was fill a marble composition book with words, and she’d have written a book. Every day, she came home from school, climbed into the window seat, and wrote. When the last word at the bottom of the last page was written, she was one happy kid. Did she actually tell a story? No one will ever know. The book was lost when the family moved a year later.

Since then, she’s taken a much more realistic approach to writing. After a career as a high school English and Language Arts teacher, which included a number of years as a teacher-consultant for local affiliates of the National Writing Project (in Maryland and Arizona), she co-authored a successful university level textbook, Doing Academic Writing in Education: Connecting the Personal and the Professional, as well as chapters in education texts. Two short memoir pieces were selected for publication in Seasons of Our Lives: Spring and Tales of Our Lives: Reflection Pond, award-winning stories from She collaborated with Dr. Cristy Kessler for her book, Surviving Healthcare: Five Steps to Cutting Through the BS, Getting the Treatment You Need, and Saving Your Life.

As a writer, she is a member of Women Writing the West, the Alliance of Independent Authors, the Independent Author’s Network, Women’s Fiction Writing Association, the Historical Novel Society, the Arizona Archaeological and Historical Society, and Old Pueblo Archaeology. As an editor, she is the owner of Buckskin Books and a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association.


The Clay Remembers at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords

The Clay Endures at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords

The Clay Sustains (links coming soon)


Blogs:, and


Newest Interview 2017


First Interview 2016